Design + Technology Award 2019

Ultimately extended application deadline: August 31, 2019

The world of materials is developing rapidly and is becoming increasingly complex. In order to be able to develop high class and attractive products in the future, companies have to keep the two main features in their focus today: outstanding design and high technology expertise. By perfectly combining intelligent material selection, expert engineering, a high degree of innovation and impressive design companies can gain competitive advantages.

To honor outstanding products and concepts, that meet these demanding criteria, we have launched the MATERIALICA Design + Technology Award. By addressing designers and engineers alike, the MATERIALICA Design + Technology Award has been a trendsetting distinction for innovative products at the interface of material development and application as well as aesthetic and functional design since its premiere back in 2003. Therefore, it is considered a must among the internationally recognized design awards.

We are looking forward to learn more about your exciting products and projects in the segments Material, Product, Surface & Technology and CO2 Efficiency! The application deadline has just been ultimately extended to August 31, 2019.

The winners of the MATERIALICA Design + Technology Award 2018 at a glance:

Category Material
Best Of-Award (category winner): Chemours (CH) – Teflon™ FFR Polymers

Category Product
Best Of-Award (category winner): MDT-tex (D) – Tensile Membrane Solar Carport

Category Surface & Technology
Best Of-Award (category winner): Continental (D) – Morphing Controls

Category CO2 Efficiency
Best Of-Award (category winner): Covestro (D) – Desmodur® eco N 7300

Category Student
Nadia Narges Rezaei & Anna Ryzhova, Berlin University of the Arts – FLEXA
Youyang Song, Weißensee Academy of Art Berlin – Cooking New Materials



Surface & Technology
CO2 Efficiency

Winners 2018

Chemours International Operations Sàrl Best of Material
Heat Shields for Lithium Batteries
Freudenberg Sealing Technologies Gold Award Material
Institute of Building Structures and Structural Design (ITKE) Stuttgart Gold Award Material
Liquid Glass
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) Gold Award Material
Morphing Controls
Continental AG Best Of-Award Surface & Technology
Acella Hylite
Continental AG Gold Award Surface & Technology
THiNK Organo
Brose Fahrzeugteile GmbH & Co. KG Gold Award Surface & Technology
CNB 3D Touch Surfaces
Canatu Oy Silver Award Surface & Technology
Tensile Membrane Solar Carport
MDT Sonnenschutzsysteme GmbH Best Of-Award Product
Lightweight forged magnesium products
Gesenkschmiede Schneider GmbH Gold Award Product
concrete pen
STAEDTLER Mars GmbH & Co. KG Silver Award Product
europlac s.r.o. Silver Award Product
Desmodur® eco N 7300
Covestro Deutschland AG Best Of-Award Surface & Technology
Nadia Narges Rezaei & Anna Ryzhova, Winners Student Award
Cooking New Materials
Youyang Song, Winner Student Award

Award Ceremony 2018

Catch some impressions from last year’s award ceremony on the opening day of eMove360° Europe 2018 (pictures by Kroha Fotografie).

Jury Members

An experienced team – the jury members of the MATERIALICA Design + Technology Award at a glance:

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Volker Altstädt
CEO Neue Materialien Bayreuth GmbH
Prof. Christian Labonte
Design Strategy Audi Design
Prof. Michael Lanz
Managing Partner designaffairs GmbH
Robert Metzger
CEO & Publisher MunichExpo Veranstaltungs GmbH
Prof. Peter Naumann
Dean University of Applied Sciences Munich, Department of Design
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karl Friedrich Reiling
University of Applied Sciences Landshut, Faculty Mechanical Engineering
Nina Saller
Director XbeyondS

eMove360°Award 2019

If you feel that the MATERIALICA Design + Technology Award is not the matching platform for your product or project, we kindly recommend to check out our eMove360° Award for Electric Mobility & Autonomous Driving. The future of the mobility is electric, connected and autonomous – it belongs to Mobility 4.0. We extensively reflect this development with eMove360° Europe 2018 – International Trade Fair for Mobility 4.0 – electric – connected – autonomous. As it is our approach to not only present innovations in this field at the exhibition, but to reward them in international competition, we have launched the eMove360° Award for Electric Mobility & Autonomous Driving. It unites these two big future issues of the automotive industry!

Holger Neumann

PR & Award Manager

Phone: +49 (89) 322 991-34
Mobile: +49 (176) 1043 6510